Picture
This historical fiction and Newbery honor award winning novel is based on the true story of Manjiro Nakahama whose history-making journey began in 1841. Fourteen-year-old Manjiro is excited to go on his first fishing expedition with others from his village when catastrophe strikes. Caught in a big storm, the crew of five ends up stranded with no sail or oars in the open ocean. Days later they are washed up on a deserted island with no shelter other than a wet cave and no food other than nesting birds which they must kill and eat raw. Eventually they are rescued by an American whaling ship where Manjiro learns English quickly and soon becomes a favorite of the captain. Little does he know that his adventures have just begun! This book takes you from one journey to the next as Manjiro deals not only with growing up in a strange world as an outsider but also with extreme homesickness. The book includes actual drawings by John Mung (Manjiro’s English name) of his many experiences. I could not put this book down especially knowing that most of the events described actually happened. I give it 5 stars!




Rocio
10/11/2012 07:46:36 am

I believe this was one of the better Middle School books this year. This book showed a story of boldness, courage, and love. Manjiro was my absoulute favorite character. His struggle to return to Japan was perfectly written by the author. It felt as if you were there with him every step of the way! It was a very inspiring tale that I hope many will read and enjoy.

Reply
Mrs. Mathews
10/11/2012 11:27:00 am

I agree with you! It is an amazing tale and Manjiro was so heroic. Definitely a memorable character

Reply
Jennifer
12/28/2012 02:15:17 am

I just read this book for my book report, and I enjoyed it very much. It has allowed me to open my heart to a foreign culture that I now respect very much. Like omg totally awesome!!

Reply
Mrs. Mathews
12/28/2012 03:02:18 am

I agree! It does show you a different culture and a different time. I found it fascinating :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.