Picture
Not many books make me cry but this one did. Keep the tissues handy when you read this one. Set in post Vietnam War America, All the Broken Pieces by Ann E. Burg is an amazing historical fiction novel written entirely in verse. Matt Pin is amerasian, his father is a US soldier and his mother is Vietnamese. When the US pulled out of Vietnam at the end of the war some of these children were rescued and airlifted out by the departing US soldiers. Matt was given up by his mother to have a better life in the United States. Feelings about the war run high in his new hometown and he is bullied and called names by fellow students. Matt has two skills which he hopes will help him fit in; his rocket pitching arm and ability to play the piano. But Matt also has tremendous guilt about the disabled little brother he left behind in Vietnam and his 12 year-old mind has decided that his mother must not have loved him if she gave him up so easily.
The author's use of figurative language enables the reader to feel as if he/she is there with Matt. This beautifully written and intense novel is a great way to begin to understand this era of US history and how discrimination affects individuals and communities.


Rocio
10/11/2012 07:52:35 am

This book was a huge tear jerker for me. There were multiple times were I let a tear or two go. Matt Pin is a truly remarkable young boy. To have been raised during the Vietnam War IN Vietnam is an amazing aspect of his character. I love the fact that this book was written in verse, because it gave you a feel as though this book wasn't just a book, but a piece of artwork. Matt's memories of his younger brother brought out a softer side of me causing me to call my younger siblings right away and tell them just how much I loved them. All The Broken Pieces isn't just a book. It's a matsterpiece.

Reply
Mrs. Mathews
10/11/2012 11:31:12 am

I cried when I read this book but I'm so glad I read it. I agree with you about the verse. Poetry allows the expression of feelings and emotions.

Reply
11/1/2012 10:55:04 am

I could barely put this book into words when I read this. This was something new, something different, something I've never read before. This was truly an amazing book, and it really touched my heart.

Reply
Mrs. Mathews
12/28/2012 03:05:00 am

That is a great way to put it. It touched my heart too.

Reply
Ashley Ondoua
1/8/2013 08:51:11 pm

I am Readig this booktoo.Its an amazing book
I love it so far

Reply



Leave a Reply.